Movie News

Oscars 2014: 86th Academy Awards Winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2013 at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center and televised the ceremony live on the ABC Television Network.

Gravity was the big winner in terms of number of gold statues with seven, including a Directing Oscar for Alfonso Cuarón. Meanwhile, 12 Years a Slave took home three statues, capturing top honors for Best Picture, Best Screenplay and Actress in a Supporting Role for Lupita Nyong’o. Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto won their first Oscars, taking home Lead and Supporting Actor awards for Dallas Buyers Club, while Cate Blanchett claimed Actress in a Leading Role for her performance in Blue Jasmine.

Here’s the full list of Nominees and Winners…

Best Picture

WINNER: 12 Years a Slave – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producers
American Hustle – Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison and Jonathan Gordon, Producers
Captain Phillips – Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers
Dallas Buyers Club – Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producers
Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producers
Her – Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producers
Nebraska – Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers
Philomena – Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producers
The Wolf of Wall Street – Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers


WINNER: Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón
American Hustle – David O. Russell
Nebraska – Alexander Payne
12 Years a Slave – Steve McQueen
The Wolf of Wall Street – Martin Scorsese

Actor in a Leading Role

WINNER: Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Actor in a Supporting Role

WINNER: Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street

Actress in a Leading Role

WINNER: Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Amy Adams – American Hustle
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench – Philomena
Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

Actress in a Supporting Role

WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
June Squibb – Nebraska

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

WINNER: 12 Years a Slave – Screenplay by John Ridley
Before Midnight – Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke
Captain Phillips – Screenplay by Billy Ray
Philomena – Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
The Wolf of Wall Street – Screenplay by Terence Winter

Writing (Original Screenplay)

WINNER: Her – Written by Spike Jonze
American Hustle – Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
Blue Jasmine – Written by Woody Allen
Dallas Buyers Club – Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack
Nebraska – Written by Bob Nelson

Animated Feature Film

WINNER: Frozen – Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho
The Croods – Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco and Kristine Belson
Despicable Me 2 – Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin and Chris Meledandri
Ernest & Celestine – Benjamin Renner and Didier Brunner
The Wind Rises – Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki


WINNER: Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki
The Grandmaster – Philippe Le Sourd
Inside Llewyn Davis – Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska – Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners – Roger A. Deakins

Costume Design

WINNER: The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin
American Hustle – Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster – William Chang Suk Ping
The Invisible Woman – Michael O’Connor
12 Years a Slave – Patricia Norris

Documentary Feature

WINNER: 20 Feet from Stardom – Morgan Neville, Gil Friesen and Caitrin Rogers
The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
Cutie and the Boxer – Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher
Dirty Wars – Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
The Square – Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer

Documentary Short Subject

WINNER: The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life – Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
CaveDigger – Jeffrey Karoff
Facing Fear – Jason Cohen
Karama Has No Walls – Sara Ishaq
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall – Edgar Barens

Film Editing

WINNER: Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger
American Hustle – Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten
Captain Phillips – Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club – John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
12 Years a Slave – Joe Walker

Foreign Language Film

WINNER: The Great Beauty – Italy
The Broken Circle Breakdown – Belgium
The Hunt – Denmark
The Missing Picture – Cambodia
Omar – Palestine

Makeup and Hairstyling

WINNER: Dallas Buyers Club – Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa – Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger – Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Music (Original Score)

WINNER: Gravity – Steven Price
The Book Thief – John Williams
Her – William Butler and Owen Pallett
Philomena – Alexandre Desplat
Saving Mr. Banks – Thomas Newman

Music (Original Song)

WINNER: “Let It Go” – Frozen
Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
“Alone Yet Not Alone” – Alone Yet Not Alone
Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel
“Happy” – Despicable Me 2
Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams
“The Moon Song” – Her
Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze
“Ordinary Love” – Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

Production Design

WINNER: The Great Gatsby – Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn
American Hustle – Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler
Gravity – Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
Her – Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena
12 Years a Slave – Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker

Short Film (Animated)

WINNER: Mr. Hublot – Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
Feral – Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
Get a Horse! – Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
Possessions – Shuhei Morita
Room on the Broom – Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Short Film (Live Action)

WINNER: Helium – Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me) – Esteban Crespo
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything) – Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?) – Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
The Voorman Problem – Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Sound Editing

WINNER: Gravity – Glenn Freemantle
All Is Lost – Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
Captain Phillips – Oliver Tarney
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Brent Burge
Lone Survivor – Wylie Stateman

Sound Mixing

WINNER: Gravity – Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro
Captain Phillips – Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson
Inside Llewyn Davis – Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland
Lone Survivor – Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Visual Effects

WINNER: Gravity – Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds
Iron Man 3 – Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick
The Lone Ranger – Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier
Star Trek Into Darkness – Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

Source: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

To Top